How I Got My Agent

I am delighted to announce that since my last blog post I have been contacted by an amazing agent Tracy Brennan of Trace Literary Agency. Tracy currently represents some of Ireland’s greatest contemporary writers such as Carmel Harrington who is published by Harper Collins as well as Terry Prone and Louise Hall. If you are wondering how I was lucky enough to get a literary agent of Tracy’s calibre to read over my manuscript in the first place then I will have to re-wind to the summer of 2014 and a “date with an agent” event which was arranged by the Focal Literary Festival. This Literary Festival is held in Enniscorthy Co. Wexford and is well worth checking out for any budding writers out there. The festival ran over a couple of days and I was given the opportunity to pitch my novel to the amazing American literary agent Tracy Brennan. I was all set to meet her on the Saturday morning but another writer approached me and asked if I could swap with him as he could not attend the festival on the Sunday. Of course I said yes but this meant that I had to wait another twenty four hours for my “date with an agent”. However, there were panel discussions all afternoon and the launch of Carmel Harrington’s second book “The Life You Left” which took place that evening in Enniscorthy Castle so I had plenty to keep my mind occupied whilst I waited to meet with Tracy. At the book launch Carmel spoke very highly of Tracy and I remember thinking to myself I would love to be fortunate enough to be represented by such a talented and hardworking agent.

The next afternoon soon came along and as Billy Roche was speaking about his experience of being a writer I slipped into a turret in the castle (yes I know it sounds like a fairy tale) for my ten minute pitch to Tracy. I connected with her straight away she seemed interested in my work and agreed to look over the sample chapters of my novel. Over the next few weeks as I was preparing for my MA in Creative Writing I received an e-mail from Tracy requesting my full manuscript. I had heard that this was a very good sign and I was delighted to send her my novel. The next six weeks were busy with early mornings and late nights as I adjusted to being a student again and then last week out of the blue I received an e-mail from Tracy saying that she likes my manuscript so much that she would like to see if she can get it into the hands of an editor for publication. Needless to say I accepted her kind offer and I am really looking forward to working with Tracy in the future and I am so grateful to her for believing in my work. I really wanted to let other writers know how I got my agent as it is important to know that when an opportunity arises you should grab it with both hands.

11 thoughts on “How I Got My Agent

  1. Reblogged this on Carmel Harrington Author and commented:
    An author to watch out for everyone! Very excited to see a new addition to the Trace Literary Agency ‘family’. And how lovely that it’s a fellow Wexfordian! Congratulations Caroline, I’m very happy for you and wish you every success with your submission.

Leave a Reply

