Writers are great people

One of the benefits of the MA in Creative Writing is that we have some inspirational guest speakers. They come in to speak to us about their experiences as writers, agents and publishers. Each one has given us their unique spin on things, and they have all been open and honest with us about the reality of writing and the publishing industry. These are the people who have made it passed the finish line and had their work published and they are all successful in their own right.

Yesterday we had Ireland’s first Laureate na nÓg  Siobhán Parkinson in to speak to us.     Siobhán is an award winning novelist and is one of Ireland’s best known children’s authors. She has wrote books for younger children, older children, teenagers and adults and she had some great advice for us on writing and getting your work published. Listening to people like Siobhán has truly inspired me. I can only hope that some of the nuggets of wisdom that I have been given will benefit me as a writer.

I am currently 30,000 words into my second novel which I am completing as part of my MA and I have made a realization. Sitting down to another day at the desk, I am aware that I am part of a community of writers. Some are further along the path than me and others are just starting out on their writing journey. One thing I have discovered is that we do not make the journey in isolation. If we can make some friends along the way isn’t that all the better? Writers are a friendly, approachable bunch of people. Even the most successful have plenty of time for those who are up and coming. At the end of this year I will have my MA and a book written. If I manage to get my book published and make some great friends in the process then what more could I ask for?

One thought on “Writers are great people

Leave a Reply

