The Hook Lighthouse – Teach Solais Rinn Duáin

The Hook Lighthouse

I wear black bands
although no one has died
I see them
etched on the eyelids of fishermen
a blue bruise
that turns black
with rage

I warn them
go back, go back
but they have
come too far
drawn to my light
those tiger moths
orange wings unfold
tainted with hope
they beat their wings
as foolish men
use their
oars to try to break
the unbreakable waves

I have seen them
heard their cold hard
footsteps on my stairs
in candlelight
with incantations
they invoke their
all seeing God
they burn fires
on this desolate shore
mutations of grief
drawn down
by the elements

I stand alone
and watch
as one by one
the tiger moths
drown

Caroline Busher

Caroline at the Hook Lighthouse

My poem touches upon the history of Teach Solais Rinn Duáin and makes particular reference to the monks who were the first to light fires as beacons to warn sailors of the dangerous rocks on the peninsula.

photo of the hook

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Hook Lighthouse – Teach Solais Rinn Duáin

Leave a Reply

