Book Launch and Listowel Writers’ Week

The Dublin Launch of Caramel Hearts by E.R. Murray

01st June 2016

On Wednesday 01st June 2016 I attended the launch of my dear friend Elizabeth Rose Murray’s Book – Caramel Hearts in Dubray Books on Grafton Street in Dublin. I cannot begin to express how much I admire E.R. Murray. We have known each other for quite a while online and got to meet in person for the first time at Wexford Literary Festival where she entered the YA room of joy with Ruth Frances Long and Claire Hennessy. Elizabeth is such a kind, thoughtful and talented person and I wish her every success for the future. Caramel Hearts was launched by the wonderful Sinéad Gleeson who spoke highly of Elizabeth, and their time spent together in the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig.

 

E.R Murray launch

Caroline Busher and E.R.Murray

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Listowel Writers’ Week

 01 June 2016

 No your eyes do not deceive you – After the launch of Caramel Hearts I made my way straight to Listowel Writer’s Week in County Kerry. The journey took about three and a half hours and I arrived in Listowel at midnight. Then I had great fun pitching my tent under the stars – all the years at girl guides paid off.

listowel sign

Arriving at Listowel late at night. Even beautiful Listowel Castle looks creepy

 

Tent

The tent in Listowel

Advanced Novel Writing Workshop with Richard Skinner – Director of fiction at The Faber Academy

CkGy6RMWgAAnBN4.jpg_large

Advanced Novel Writing Workshop with Richard Skinner – Director of fiction at the Faber Academy

 02nd June 2016

 Sincere thanks to Wexford County Council who awarded me a literature bursary which enabled me to part in this three day advanced novel writing workshop with Richard Skinner. It was a fascinating three days, we looked at setting and the complex and critical relationship between character and conflict. During the workshops we completed lots of plotting, drafting and editing exercises. It was a productive experience which I thoroughly enjoyed and I had the opportunity to make some new writer friends during my time there.

Leave a Reply

