Wexford Literary Festival

27th-29th May 2016

Wexford Literary Festival is in its third year. As a curator for the festival and a member of the literary festival committee I am delighted to say that the festival has gone from strength to strength. We had excellent panel discussions all day long. With industry experts, historical fiction authors, self published authors, crime writers as well as children and YA Authors. I took part in a debut novelist’s panel discussion with authors Cat Hogan, Catherine Ryan Howard, Frankie Gaffney and Joan Brady. Here are some photographs from that event.

Full panel

Joan Brady, Frankie Gaffney, Cat Hogan, Caroline Busher & Catherine Ryan Howard

Debut novelist panel

Cat Hogan & Caroline Busher

me and catherine

Caroline Busher & Catherine Ryan Howard

The Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award Results

 Sunday 29th May 2016

When I was asked to chair the sub-committee for the Colm Tóibín Short Story Award last year, I could not have anticipated the phenomenal response that we were to receive from writers all over the world. There were more than three hundred entries for the Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award. I was an initial reader for the award along with writers Paul O’Reilly, Cat Hogan, Carmel Harrington and Alison Martin. The winners were announced in the historic Athenaeum on a beautiful sunny afternoon. The judges for the award were Lisa Coen co-founder of Tramp Press, Nuala O’Connor author and poet and Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin founder of The Inkwell Group and the online national writing resource magazine writing.ie. The prize was sponsored by Wexford County Council. It was a great afternoon, the winning entries were as follows:

1st Place Holly Atkinson, Skunk & Beastie

2nd Place Judith Wilson, Winter 1963

3rd Place Lourdes Mackey, Dad’s Lost Soul

Shortlisted writers for the CTSSA

Writers shortlisted for the Colm Tóibin International Short Story Award

CTSSA Winners

Caroline Busher, Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, Carmel Harrington, Paddy Kavanagh, Maria Nolan, Lisa Coen, Cat Hogan, Judith Wilson, Nuala Stack and Lourdes Mackay

Lisa Coen and Sarah Davis Goff

Sarah Davis-Goff (Tramp Press), Caroline Busher, Lisa Coen (Tramp Press).